top of page

Get to know Naomi

My name is Naomi Norton, and I am a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in the State of Missouri (2018045008) and a Licensed Clinical Marriage and Family Therapist in the State of Kansas (2864). I am an Approved Supervisor through the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT). I have a Ph.D. in Family Therapy from Northcentral University; my research focused on the conceptualization of mental illness by the white fundamentalist evangelical Christian community. I currently working on publishing the White American fundamentalist evangelical cultural Power and Control Wheel inspired by the Duluth Model.       

(Article in the "Professional Work" Tab under "About").

 

I have worked in various capacities in the mental health field for almost a decade. Working with teenagers and families within a psychiatric hospital encouraged me to pursue further education to obtain a family therapy degree. Upon graduating, I worked within child welfare, providing intensive in-home therapy; these professional experiences have allowed me many opportunities with many people who deal with various issues. I have used my knowledge to help others impacted by cultural, contextual, and systemic struggles, for which I am incredibly grateful! I began my therapy practice in Kansas City in 2016, providing in-home therapy for individuals and families who struggle with various disabilities, personality disorders, severe mental illnesses, and religious trauma.

 

During my education and professional journey, I have obtained certification in dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT) and training in Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR). Additionally, I am passionate about supporting individuals with religious trauma and/or who have experienced adverse religious experiences (AREs), spiritual/religious/church abuse, and faith deconstruction.

When I'm not at my office (and not writing!), you can find me at a local bookstore or a coffee shop. I enjoy music, cooking, reading, writing, meditation, and spending time with family and friends. 

Untitled
About : About Me
bottom of page